Home > Solo instrument > 100 One Octave or 9 note diatonic hymns, 1 to 50

100 One Octave or 9 note diatonic hymns, 1 to 50

Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
31 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument
Instrumental parts
Not available

This collections is compiled for players of instruments with a limited range––ocarina, tabor pipe, penny whistle, etc. There are 50 hymns in this volume, and a companion score will have 50 more. See the title page for a list of hymn tunes included in this collection. I have used only tune names as opposed to hymn names because many melodies are used for multiple hymns. Even tune names differ on some melodies.

I have transposed many of the tunes to read in a 8 or nine note range from middle c to c5 or d5. I presuppose that those playing instruments pitched in keys other than "C" can still make use of this and let the instrument do the transposing.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by David G. Barton. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com David G. Barton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.