Sheona [a special recorder piece]solo inst + pno

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Soprano Recorder)
Instrumental parts

Here we have a toughy! It was especially written for Sheona who had severe asthma problems. It helped with her breathing and after a long time sticking with it she managed to win a music festival with it, well done Sheona. You will notice there are a lot of breath marks, these were for Sheona but I'm sure that you can manage with less. A really big breath is needed however before bar 33 and that very high 'G'. The "pushes" have had to be faked as Sibelius cannot as yet perform such techniques, therefor they are a bit rough and not as accurate as they should be. A push is played by dropping the breath until the note goes flat, then pushing the breath back up until the note is at the correct pitch again. Bars 19/20 produce the wrong gliss on playback unfortunately. See my home page for others:- Thanks.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Pete Peters. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Pete Peters has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.