'Towards the Light' Movement I Prelude

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

'Towards the Light' is a symphony not in the strict classical sense, but in the broader significance of a large-scale work for orchestra (in this case with vocal soloists and chorus) of serious and ambitious intent. Its five movements last altogether for about 50 minutes, and they set texts from various different religious and philosophical tradtions of the world dealing with humanity's attitude to death. The general movement of the work is from darkness to light - thus the title. The piece was originally composed in 1992-3, and revised and put into sibelius form during 2001-2.

Movement I, Prelude, sets a famous passage from the great Hindu scripture, the 'Bhagavad Gita', in which Krishna cousels his friend, the warrior Arjuna, who is cast down with despair in a 'dark night of the soul', as to the courageous and wise attitude to both life and death.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Laurence Hughes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Laurence Hughes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.