Three’s Company! March - Novelty Trio (Six Hands)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Trio (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The idea for this piece came from my Five-finger Foxtrot!, but extended to six hands on one piano. The top part uses only a 5-note pentatonic scale (G,A,B,D,E) throughout, with both hands playing in octaves. There are just two extra optional notes which may be played, and which would be simple to add.

The other two parts are more difficult, though not extravagantly so, but could be played by able students. Originally I had set the key as G flat major, which meant that the top player used only the five black notes. This was easier for Player 1, but not so for the other two, hence the upward shift to G!

I have dedicated it to Isaac Chung, who plays the top part, with his two older sisters, Isobel and Imelda, on the lower two parts. It is certainly intended as a fun piece for piano six hands, and there may well be more to follow.
It was first performed at the Composers’ Lunchtime Recital in April, 2003. Isaac took the top part, I took the middle, and Clive Jenkins]], played the bottom part, as the attached (and faked!) picture shows.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.