String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring": I. Allegro moderato

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Modern classical music
String quintet
Instrumental parts
Not available

Note: Parts available upon request.

Commentary by Left Brain and Right Brain. LB: "This movement is a modified sonata form in A Major and 4/4 time, with forays into D-Flat Major and F Major (the keys of Movements III and II). An odd choice of keys perhaps, but all 3 are equidistant from each other, separated by major 3rds. A brief Introduction spans all 3 keys, and leads into the Exposition. Theme I is in A Major, Theme II in D-Flat Major, and the Development in F Major. Incidentally, major 3rds are double tones, which I sometimes divide into whole-tone scales. The Recapitulation and Coda return to A Major." RB: "Sonata form thrives on contrast, and this movement is chock full of contrast. Nice conversations between voices too. After the bustle of melodies, the Development includes a R?verie in 3/4 time for a lyrical double bass solo, if you got musicians who play real smooth." LB: "2002 was one of my busiest years as an engineer, but December finally gave me time to compose, and this music was very well received. Next I corrected typographical errors, and incorporated suggestions from musicians, such as to remove the beams from the pizzicato 8th-note accompaniment of Theme II." RB: "Never waver to do a favor for a quaver, I always say." LB: "This movement was completed New Year's Day 2003, after a splendid sailboat cruise in Pearl Harbor, Oahu, Hawaii, with a friend who is a Captain in the United States Navy. This was a rare privilege for me, and we had East Loch to ourselves (except for the watchful eye of military security). The music may reflect my awe to sail and hear the peaceful waves, amidst gorgeous Hawaiian scenery. Mahalo."

David Stybr: String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring" (complete) (29:10)
I. Allegro moderato (7:30) - A Major
II. Scherzo: Allegro (5:10) - F Major
III. Hymn and Tango (8:15) - D-Flat Major
IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco (8:00) - A Major / F-Sharp Minor

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Stybr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Stybr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.