String Quartet No. 1 ’From the Gilgarran Hills’, Op. 10

Full details...
page one of String Quartet No. 1 ’From the Gilgarran Hills’, Op. 10

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I dedicate my string quartet in A minor/C major for string quartet ’From the Gilgarran Hills’ to the beautiful village of Gilgarran in West Cumbria where I once lived. This is a piece inspired by the contemplation of nature in the area, from the cold, misty mornings of winter in the nearby forest evoked at the beginning of the piece to the incomparable beauty of the sun presiding over the nearby hills to which I frequently go for walks, as represented at the end. The ideas for the music occurred to me in the course of many such walks.

Structurally, this quartet is not in standard sonata form but in fantasia form, beginning in A minor and ending in C major. It is like a condensed mini-tone poem, with the movements welded together. I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed composing it. In future, depending on feedback, I might produce an orchestration for this piece, for which I already have some sketches, but at this stage this is very much intended to be a string quartet.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of String Quartet No. 1 ’From the Gilgarran Hills’, Op. 10

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...