String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring": III. Hymn and Tango

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Modern classical music
String quintet
Instrumental parts
Not available

Note: Parts available upon request.

Commentary by Left Brain and Right Brain. RB: "I'll kick off this discussion. The fast first movement has a slow episode, so how's about a slow movement with a fast episode? We fused 2 styles with little in common for contrast, and this Hymn and Tango combo could be subtitled 'The Sacred and the Seductive' (? la Claude Debussy's Danses Sacr?e et Profane). It's a simple ABA structure: Hymn-Tango-Hymn." LB: "The inspiration was equally simple. En route home from Hawaii in January 2003, we flew overnight from Honolulu to Los Angeles, to connect with a flight to Chicago. Minutes before dawn, we tookoff from LAX Airport to the west over the Pacific Ocean, then made a long slow turn south and east around the scenic Palos Verdes Peninsula and Channel Islands of Southern California. As we flew inland, the beauteous golden peaks of the San Gabriel Mountains glowed in the Sunrise at that instant. As the Sun rose before us and the Land and Ocean fell away beneath us, that unforgettable dawn inspired the thrice-stated Introduction motives and the serene Hymn." RB: "Here's the scoop on the Tango. As we left LAX, a Qantas jet from Australia landed in the next runway. My mind drifted to the Southern Hemisphere, but the Spanish names in California made me think elsewhere down under the Equator: Argentina, Chile and Uruguay. My memories 4 years earlier of boisterous Buenos Aires, splendid Santiago and magnificent Montevideo transmogrified the Introduction and Hymn into a sensual Tango. This piece is like the dawn, a frenetic day, and then dusk with a stunning Moonrise." LB: "The Hymn is in D-Flat Major, with the Tango in its tonic minor, C-Sharp Minor, and then its subdominant, F-Sharp Minor (relative minor of the home key of the quintet: A Major). The expansive Theme I of the first movement reappears in its original A Major, but its contrapuntal context markedly changes its character. In the final section, each phrase of the Hymn modulates upward by major 3rds: D-Flat Major, F Major, A Major and finally D-Flat Major again." RB: "The tonalities may be symmetrical, but the phrases aren't. The Hymn has 7-bar phrases, and the Tango has 6-bar phrases. And the harmonies only seem simple. Not many accidentals, but they sure mix together well. On the other hand, string players won't like 5 flats, but I stuck to the tonal progressions, so as a compromise the D-Flat Major sections are slow."

David Stybr: String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring" (complete) (29:10)
I. Allegro moderato (7:30) - A Major
II. Scherzo: Allegro (5:10) - F Major
III. Hymn and Tango (8:15) - D-Flat Major
IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco (8:00) - A Major / F-Sharp Minor

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Stybr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Stybr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.