O Sacred Head, Now Wounded (O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden)

BWV 244

J.S.Bach/arr.Martin Hauber
Year of arrangement
Easy (Grades 1-3)
2 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra

O sacred Head, now wounded, with grief and shame weighed down Now scornfully surrounded with thorns, Thine only crown How pale Thou art with anguish, with sore abuse and scorn How does that visage languish, which once was bright as morn

Ludwig v. Beethoven said about Johann S. Bach: "This ocean is so infinite an inexhaustible in it`s richness of ideas and harmonies."

Certainly loving music does not mean infinite love of any composer in the world. But without loving J.S.Bach there is no true love of music.

"I am just an instrument but you are the music"

page one of O Sacred Head, Now Wounded (O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden)ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Martin Hauber. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.