Sweet Rivers of Redeeming Love

Year of composition
John A. Granade
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

The "Three Early American Hymns for Lent" were composed for an ecumenical Folk Lenten Service, and are designed to be performed together, although they could just as easily be done seperately. Each tune and text is taken from "The Sacred Harp," and early American hymnal which has enjoyed limited popularity for generations. The first two tunes, "Come All Ye Mourning Pilgrims" and "Sweet Rivers of Redeeming Love," may be unfamiliar to most, but have the beautiful, haunting melodies that are characteristic of music of the period. The last hymn, "Wondrous Love," while beautiful, has been set a gazillion times by a bazillion different composers and arrangers. It's included here to add some familiarity to the set. Even experienced choirs will be challenged by these arrangements. Permission to make copies for your group is included in the price of this score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Newlon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mark Newlon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.