String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring": IV. Finale

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Modern classical music
String quintet
Instrumental parts
Not available

Note: Parts available upon request.

Commentary by Left Brain and Right Brain. LB: "After the key changes of the previous 3 movements, the Finale in modified sonata form remains in 3 sharps throughout. Theme I in F-Sharp Minor hints at the opening of the first movement. Theme II in A Major reprises the soaring Trio from the Scherzo, in 6/4 time over the basic 4/4 rhythm. The Development is a brisk Fughetta and a Passacaglia, both based on Theme I. The Passacaglia recalls themes from all 4 movements as it builds into rich quintuple polyphony. Did you know that the word 'Passacaglia' literally means 'running the street' in Italian?" RB: "Why don't you go to Rome and frolic in heavy traffic? The reprise of the Trio theme shows we're into recycling, but you ain't heard nothin' yet! Here's a roll call of themes shoehorned into the Passacaglia: Mvt. IV Theme I, Mvt. III Tango, Mvt. II Trio, Mvt. I Theme I and Mvt. III Hymn. The 5-way counterpoint slides past each other real smooth, as the key gradually shifts. The first 2 themes are in F-Sharp Minor, the last 2 in A Major, and the middle theme bridges both keys. One problem though was your blasted irregular phrases: 5-bar, 6-bar, 7-bar and 8-bar. Make up your mind! Finally I averaged them into 6-bar segments." LB: "Such statistical manipulation is laudable. Alas 2 themes (Mvt. I Theme II and Mvt. II Scherzo) were omitted from the Passacaglia, as they would require a septet or octet. Although not 100% satisfied with my String Quintet No. 1, after 3 months of intense work it is my honest best." RB: "You betcha. I spent 50 hours on the Fughetta and Passacaglia alone, only 3 minutes of music! All 4 movements fit together wonderfully despite their flaws, and I love them all equally. And yet I'd tear them up in a minute, because the agony and the ecstasy are in the creation." LB: "Finally, a few technical matters. The Finale extensively uses tremolo, which appears in no other movement, whereas pizzicato is absent until the final 4 bars. The stereophonic placement of instruments in the software (left to right: 1st Violin, Viola, Double Bass, Cello, 2nd Violin) helps the polyphony emerge with greater clarity. Stereo interplay first appears in Theme I, and intensifies in the quadruple and quintuple contrapuntal developments of the Fughetta and Passacaglia sections. The Finale concludes with simultaneous statements of the Trio theme from the Scherzo and the opening theme of the first movement. It was completed in March 2003 to welcome spring."

David Stybr: String Quintet No. 1 in A Major, "Spring" (complete) (29:10)
I. Allegro moderato (7:30) - A Major
II. Scherzo: Allegro (5:10) - F Major
III. Hymn and Tango (8:15) - D-Flat Major
IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco (8:00) - A Major / F-Sharp Minor

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Stybr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Stybr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.