Jason And The Dragon of Colchis - Part 1

Full details...
page one of Jason And The Dragon of Colchis - Part 1

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Incidental music for one of four "Dragon Stories" composed for a talking books project that never happened, this is the well known story of Jason and the Argonauts and their quest to find the golden fleece. I've put together the first four cues as follows:

1) The Voyage to Colchis. The opening depicts Jason and his fellow adventurers on board their ship, The Argo, sailing aimlessly and despondently, not knowing where to find find the golden fleece. Then one day they are told that the King of Colchis has the fleece. The mood brightens, Jason calls out "Set sail for Colchis!", and the voyage begins.

2) Hospitality & Jason and the Princess Fall In Love. The King of Colchis wines and dines Jason and the Argonauts, lulling them into a false sense of security, intending to kill them in the night. It'a a bit like Ancient Greek restaurant musak. Meanwhile Jason fancies the King's daughter, Princess Medea, and she fancies him back - and guess what … they fall in love!

3) The Warning. Princess Medea warns Jason of the King's true intentions and so they avoid nocturnal death. She also tells him he must fight a giant bull and then an army of skeleton soldiers in order to claim the fleece.

4) March To The Field Next morning Jason and his men march out to the field where battle will commence.

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Jason And The Dragon of Colchis - Part 1

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...