An English Requiem

Laurence Armstrong Hughes 2013/14
Full details...
page one of An English Requiem

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This short work for choir, soloists, oboe, harp and organ sets texts from the Psalms, together with poems by some less well-known British poets of the Great War. It is intended as an act of remembrance, and is a contemplative work rather than a work of mourning. The first performance will be given by the Arcadian Singers of Oxford University conducted by Jacob Ewens at Keble College Chapel, Friday 14th November 2014, at 8pm (See ) If you are interested in performing this work, choir scores are available for hire from Laurence Hughes at - plus special parts for oboe and harp which can be sent in addition to the full score.

Score ID
Laurence Armstrong Hughes 2013/14
Ivor Gurney, Laurence Binyon, Alec de Candole
Difficult (Grades 7+)
21 minutes
Choir + keyboard
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of An English Requiem

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...