Silent Night - Leadsheet for Piano/Vocal/Guitar Lowered to G

Franz Gruber
Year of arrangement
Joseph Mohr
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Folk music
Lead sheets
Instrumental parts
Not available

Many arrangements of this classic are just too high to sing for most of us! So here’s one in G.

I also included the chord chart for the original chord for "sleep in heavenly peace." It’s actually not hard to play and sounds way better than cheating by staying on the Em or going back to G early. If you have a strong pinky, you can just play the 4th fret on the 5th (A) string with that, then the E on the 2nd fret of the 4th string. Like I said in the score, it’s almost exactly like playing a typical Cmaj7, but instead of the C on the 3rd fret of the 5th string, you play the C# on the 4th fret instead. Everything else, you play open (except your low E string, course!)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Bernardo Hernandez. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Bernardo Hernandez has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.