Beside The Sea

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

The fourth and final piece in my Children Suite was inspired by a day trip to Brighton some years ago when my children were let loose on the pier for the afternoon and had the time of their lives. Alice, aged about seven then, entered a talent contest and sang Daisy Bell, which took some courage in front of a large audience, and so Harry Dacre's familiar tune finds its way into this piece, hopefully sounding as if played on a rickety old hurdy gurdy or similar fairground instrument. At the end, to no one's surprise I imagine, Mr Dacre's tune and mine turn out to share the same harmonies. Alice didn't win the contest, but I always maintained that if her nerve had held out and she had sung her second party piece (Your Baby Has Gone Down The Plughole) it might have been a different story.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by John Hughes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to John Hughes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.