Aurora for Trumpet and Piano

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Other and Modern classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Trumpet in Bb)
Instrumental parts

Aurora is a piece of programmatic music which tells the story of a journey through the Highlands of Scotland to see the mysterious, yet beautiful Northern Lights. The piece starts with thought of Aurora as being a powerful and dominant force over mankind – something to be feared by people in ancient times! We then begin our journey through the Highlands of Scotland filled with excitement, yet there is still an air of mystery in the back of our mind about these lights. On our arrival the beauty of the lights comes through in a very lyrical melodic section, yet the work ends with an edge of mystery which has surrounded these lights since the dawn of mankind.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Iain Mundy. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Iain Mundy has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.