Variations for Strings

Full details...
page one of Variations for Strings

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This work consists of a theme and seven variations. Each variation is built on the same three section form as heard in the theme. Not only is each variation structured like this but the work also falls into three main sections. The Theme - Variations 1 to 4 and Variations 5 to 7. The first four variations give the effect of a gradual speeding up. The variations progress from a 4/4 Andante Romance to a Waltz, then a Siciliana and finally a 2/4 Scherzo and trio. The last three variations also give an effect of speeding up but this time the process is done by an increase in contrapuntal movement from variation to variation. From the stillness of a choral the music moves into a four part fugue and finally into a two part gallop finale.

Each variation is heralded in by a four note link which not only gives a hint of the character of the next variation but at several points in the work, this itself becomes a focus which undergoes variation.

The first performance was given by Ensemble 13 conducted by Tomas Creagh-Fuller at St Edmund's Church, Village Way, Beckenham, Kent on 29 September 2001

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
12 minutes
String orchestra
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Variations for Strings

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...