Mozart: "The Hunt" (String Quartet No.17 K.458 in Bb) Mvt. I. arr. horn quartet

W A Mozart
Ray Thompson
Full details...
page one of Mozart: "The Hunt" (String Quartet No.17  K.458 in Bb) Mvt. I. arr. horn quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

String Quartet No. 17 in B-flat major, K. 458, nicknamed "The Hunt", is the fourth of the Quartets dedicated to Haydn. It was completed in 1784[1] It is in four movements: 1 Allegro vivace assai 2 Menuetto and Trio. Moderato 3 Adagio, in E-flat major 4 Allegro assai Neither Mozart nor Artaria called this piece "The Hunt." "For Mozart’s contemporaries, the first movement of K.458 evidently evoked the ’chasse’ topic, the main components of which were a 6/8 time signature (sometimes featuring a strong upbeat) and triadic melodies based largely around tonic and dominant chords (doubtless stemming from the physical limitations of the actual hunting horns to notes of the harmonic series). I have arranged the 1st movement for a horn quartet, as well as transposing it into Eb. This suits the range of the horn. It would be impossible to transcribe for natural horn so I have left the parts for horn in F, with a key signature. Quite a long blow: i have transcribed all the repaeats but it practise they could/should be omitted. Hn 4 in bass clef (new notation) throughout. I will add a treble clef idc. Hn1/3 requirea good technique to cope with runs! I suggest a steady Allegro, rather than a Vivace!.

Score ID
W A Mozart
Ray Thompson
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Quartet of Horns in F
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Mozart: "The Hunt" (String Quartet No.17 K.458 in Bb) Mvt. I. arr. horn quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...