Caro mio ben [Italian aria] (string quintet)

Giuseppe Giordani (1743-1798) or Tommaso Giordani (1730-1806) arr. Joris van der Herten
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
String quintet

This aria, like many of the baroque and early classical periods, is known not from its original operatic source, but from publication in a collection edited by Parisotti, and published in the late 19th century. This collection quickly became a common source for salon and for recital music, and today it is the rare vocal recital which doesn’t contain one or two of these arias as an introduction and warm-up.

This aria has long, graceful lines, with many changes in dynamics (volume), which allow a singer to display breath control and tone. The words are very simple, as in many of the baroque arias. "My dear treasure, at least believe me, without you, my heart mourns. Your faithful one is always sighing–cease, cruel one, such harshness." The aria then repeats, usually with vocal ornamentation at the singer’s discretion.


Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Joris van der Herten. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Joris van der Herten has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.