This volume of Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra is designed to supplement instruction for young string players at the secondary level. There is also a companion volume called Little Pieces for Elementary String Orchestra.

Suitable for performance, these little pieces provide in-depth studies of fingerboard, bowing and sight-reading skills. They help students understand dynamics, articulations, and musical expression and create experiences for developing group listening and collaboration skills. Musical terms and compositional concepts are also introduced throughout the volume.

You’ll find teaching opportunity suggestions included with each piece to enhance the learning experience. At the end of the Little Pieces series, you’ll also find a long exercise, broken up into warm-up and study sections. A glossary of musical definitions and concepts is provided at the end of the volume.

Little Pieces for Young String Orchestra carries the mission of the elementary volume on to the secondary level of string orchestra instruction. Both volumes follow the same format.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Sabra Lindgren. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Sabra Lindgren has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.