A bright, fun, tuneful small-scale Cantata of the well-loved fairy tale written for a group of children in 2002 for concert performance or staged. There are four solo parts: The Three Pigs - Bill, Bob and Jen and the biggest part - The Old Wolf. (Bill and Bob can be changed to Jill and Deb and Jen to Ben. The Wolf can be played by either a boy or a girl or even a group of children). The rest of the Cantata is sung by the Chorus which divides into two on occasion. It lasts for approximately 14 minutes. In my version of the story The Three Pigs are very noisy and they disturb the old, grey Wolf who is sleeping. Infuriated by the noise the Pigs are making as they build their houses the Wolf sets out to make them stop the racket but keeps falling asleep. In the end the Wolf is exhausted by his efforts to blow down the House of Bricks and the Pigs take pity on him and decide to build him a home he can retire to. The emphasis is on the Cantata being great fun for the children to sing and perform. The music can be freely interpreted. You can add more solos, divide the chorus as you wish. Staging can be added or not. It works very well in concert with perhaps simple costumes. The Chorus can be Creatures/Trees/Flowers of the Wood if desired. Have fun!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Stephen Keeling. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Stephen Keeling has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.