Symphony No 17 1st movement - Hope

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Symphony No 17 1st movement - Hope

This is a very personal symphony. My wife, Jean, had recently been diagnosed as having Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Motor Neurone Disease). This is a fatal condition with no cure that gradually wastes all the voluntary muscles in the body until finally it affects the breathing and the sufferer dies usually within a couple of years.

I haven’t dedicated a piece to her since before we were married, so I am writing this symphony in the hope that it will give her the courage to face the uncertainty of the future. Not all those with the disease progress at the same rate and a very few go on living for a long time. Stephen Hawking, the Cambridge Professor of Physics, has had it for over 35 years.

This first movement, entitled Hope, quotes from the three most important pieces I wrote for Jean before we were married, namely my two violin sonatas (she has been a professional violinist all her working life), and the organ piece entitled Serenade which I wrote for our wedding in August 1965.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Derek Bourgeois. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Derek Bourgeois has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.