Home > Choir > Lacrimosa


Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

"Lacrimosa" (1991-1994) is scored for eight voices mixed choir (2 S, 2 A, 2 T, 2 B) a cappella. The compositional technique is analogical as in my other choral works of recent years: small motifs and scale-like patterns developed by means of repetition, gradual sequences - and all kept in a diatonic mode. As the music develops in its melody and harmony, it comes closer and closer to W.A.Mozart's "Lacrimosa" and at the end it becomes a quotation of the latter, ending at the same place, where death stopped W.A.Mozart's hand. "Lacrimosa" is dedicated to those who died for the freedom of Lithuania. At the same the work is "Hommage à W.A.Mozart".

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Mindaugas Urbaitis. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Mindaugas Urbaitis has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.