Themes from Brahms' Trio Opus 8

Johannes Brahms
Full details...
page one of Themes from Brahms' Trio Opus 8

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is some of the first movement, Allegro con brio, of Brahms' "Piano Trio in B," Opus 8. The wisdom of arranging a piano trio for marching band may appear questionable, but I knew that the beautiful first subject would sound exquisite with brass, and so I couldn't resist.

Students of theory will be interested to know that there is an augmented triad in this piece. This rare beast seems to function as a dominant on VII leading to I.

I took great pains the make this playable and arranged the clarinet parts for easy fingering. I hope that my efforts will enable more people to become acquainted with this sublime early masterpiece of a superb musician.

Parts for E-flat alto horns and Euphonium in treble clef are available in PDF form on request at no charge.

Score ID
Johannes Brahms
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
9 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Themes from Brahms' Trio Opus 8

Reviews of Themes from Brahms' Trio Opus 8

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...