Five Pieces with Horn - I, Introit

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Horn in F)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece for unaccompanied horn should be rather freely played, perhaps in the manner of a prayer or chant but with the nature of the horn in mind. The performer needs to concentrate on a very pure horn sound.

The suite consists of this piece for unaccompanied horn, duets for horn & bassoon, horn & clarinet, 2 horns, and a duet or trio if two percussionists are used) for horn and percussion. The compositions should be thought of as a set of individual pieces rather than a five movement suite.

A word about the recordings. They are not live recordings but rather machine recordings from a sample library. They are a definite improvement over the MIDI recordings Scorch uses but they are still computer generated and do not accurately represent either the sound of the horn or the many tempo variations and pauses that make these pieces work. Please prefer the written instructions rather than the recordings.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Richard Smith. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Richard Smith has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.