String Quartet No. 4

Full details...
page one of String Quartet No. 4

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This string quartet is in 4 movements. The ending of the first movement was originally a repetition of a sequence of 2 bars in which each instrument had a different bar length for the second bar, 2/8, 3/8, 4/8 and 5/8. This repetition bounded by start and end repeat double barlines could be notated in manuscript but not so easily in Sibelius and certainly it could not be played back in Sibelius. The effect, of course, was that every repeat would be different. The injunction over the repeated bars is that each player repeats the last two bars until all agree to stop. For Sibelius I have had to compromise. For performers I have notated the 2-bar repeat sequence. For Sibelius playback I have followed this with what would be played written out in full. This means I can't leave the ending to the players as I'd intended and so where I've stopped the sequence I have also added an ending. The second movement in an extended sonata form is the longest. The third movement is a short theme continuously varied. The last movement is very slow, interrupted twice by livelier passages.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
23 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of String Quartet No. 4

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...