Remembered With Love (Requiem)

Year of composition
Trad, Keats, Whitman & Robert Bridges
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
25 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This work combines text from the normal Latin Requiem text with poetry of John Keats, Robert Bridges and Walt Whitman. It's not a dramatic work instead it's a lyrical and gentle almost a lullaby. It's not about the horrors of death it's more a celebration of the person who has died. The central movement "The Dove" is a symbol of the individual that has died this is further made apparent by it being the only movement which just the soloist sings alone, the choir remains silent throughout. Then the fifth movement reminds us in a jubilant style that while the individual has died they still live within us, as we will always remember them.

The work is scored for mezzo-soprano soloist, SATB choir and small orchestra of 2 flutes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, timp, harp and strings. The first performance was given on 4 December 2004 by the John Ruskin Choral Society, The Ruskin Sinfonia (leader Ian Butterworth), Tracey Bacon (mezzo-soprano) with the composer conducting at St Francis of Assisi Church, Ravenswood Avenue, West Wickham, Kent.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Adrian Connell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Adrian Connell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.