2 RICERCARES op40 for string orchestra

page one of 2 RICERCARES op40 for string orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

TWO RICERCARES for string orchestra Op. 40 (1983) Duration: about 8 minutes. �Ricercare� means �to seek out� and usually applies to an elaborate contrapuntal instrumental composition, a kind of freely written complex fugue or canon. Here are two such ricercares. The first is a 13-part double mirror canon. The second is a 13-part double fugue with retrograde and mirrored motion � it moves backwards with inversion after bar 58. This fugue is based on a twelve-tone theme constructed from a chain of growing intervals. The both pieces are scored for a string orchestra divided into 6 groups: three first Violins, two second Violins, two third Violins, three Violas, two Celli and one Double bass (as minimum). The composition was commissioned by the �Ricercare� Orchestra from Tula town. It was completed on 12th of January 1983 in Moscow, and premiered on 11th of April 1983 in the �House of Composers� in Moscow by the Orchestra of Ministry of Culture USSR conducted by Vladimir Ponkin. Dmitri N. Smirnov

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
String orchestra
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of 2 RICERCARES op40 for string orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...