Brass Quartet - Titans

Full details...
page one of Brass Quartet - Titans

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details


This is a piece inspired by the mythological Titans, who were deposed by the Greek God Zeus, who exiled them and founded the Olympian tradition. The titans were created by the mating of Uranus (Heaven) and Gaea (the Earth). Gaea and Uranus were themselves created from Chaos (the Void). There were many Titans. Cronus, often mistaken for the god of time, was their leader, their brother and the father of their children. Cronus mated with his sister Rhea to produce the gods Zeus, Hades and Poseidon.

Cronus was given a prophecy that he would be deposed by his children, so he forced Rhea

to give her children to him when they were born whereupon he ate them. She managed to deceive him and hid Zeus, the youngest male child, away. Zeus eventually freed his siblings, by making Cronus vomit to bring them back to the world and thus he became the oldest. The other gods were persuaded to make Zeus their leader and together they deposed Cronus and defeated the Titans in a war (the Titanomachy) that lasted for many years. Zeus and the other gods were not able to kill Cronus, so he exiled him and all of the other Titans in a place called Tartarus, which was part of the underworld, where Cronus would have no access to power of any kind.

The music is based mostly on the opening chords, which recur again and again, representing Tartarus and also Cronus and all of his children in one form or another. Melodic material throughout is shaped by the chords and their progressions and I have applied simple transformations – for example, in the last section I have shaped the motifs by applying a snippet of a Fibonacci sequence and overlaying the result in different parts like a canon. I decided to use this because the Fibonacci sequence is representative of nature and the growth of life so it links to Gaea, who represents the creative force.

Obviously, Cronus, Gaea, Chaos, Zeus, Hades, Poseidon and Tartarus are all represented here, but so too are Oceanus, Phoebe, Mnemosyne and The Titanomachy (The war of the Olympians against the Titans). The piece finishes with a reprise of the opening chords, which have transformed into a less bleak soundscape, with Cronus and the other Titans safely locked away in Tartarus.

This is a difficult and challenging piece demanding a high level of skill from all players. it uses a number of dramatic effects and will stretch any ensemble.

I am looking into making a version of this piece for Brass Quintet.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
Brass quartet
Other and Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Brass Quartet - Titans

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...