Variations on a Dirge

Full details...
page one of Variations on a Dirge

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Commentary by Left Brain and Right Brain. LB: "Variations I - III are simple, and seize upon facets of the Dirge. Variation IV changes the tempo, and Variation V changes to a major key. Variations VI and VII are peaceful, and Variation VIII is a Romance which is the heart of the work. After the Dirge is restated, the Finale waltz dispels the gloom." RB: "In Variation VI: �tude Diabolique, I love the syncopations and the rapid arpeggios to the top of the keyboard. Variation V: Scherzo Macabre is in a miniature monothematic sonata form, but what grab me are the jazzy rhythms in 12/8, the starts and stops, and the leaps as the left hand crosses the right to put in its 2 cents. Those ringing 5-note chords for each hand are fun too." LB: "Variation VIII: Romance is also in miniature sonata form. The theme is an inversion of the Dirge, and now it's romantic and lyrical. The development re-inverts this inversion. The coda inverts and re-harmonizes the last 2 bars of the Dirge, to bring this variation to a tender close." RB: "In Variation VI: Intermezzo, the senza espressione comment was your idea. Your head really does rule your heart." LB: "And your heart rules your head, so we complement each other."

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Variations on a Dirge

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...