Piano Sonata in E Major

Jonathan Mitchell
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

1st Movement - Allegro assai - There is a fairly simple theme for the first movement which is repeated in a 'rondo'like fashion. The pace is quick with semiquaver runs dominating. The format is pseudo-sonata form, with the introduction of a minor element in the middle of the movement. The development of the theme continues into the latter part of the movement. The main theme is repeated with an arpeggio introduction and is finally wrapped up with the left hand playing the melody. 2nd Movement - Andante - This is a singing, slower movement, scored as an Andante, though it could be taken slower if required. It has a simple melody in the first section, leading to a more mysterious second section which contains some unusual chord progressions. The final section is a reprise of the original theme slowing to a delicate ending. 3rd Movement - Allegro. This is a short, furious movement which gets going after a fairly innocuous start. The middle section is very modern in feel and lively with contemporary chord progressions and a lively ending. Syncopation is used liberally. The final section is sharp, complex and paced so that the ending is sharp and distinctly sudden.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Mitchell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Jonathan Mitchell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.