JULES DEMERSSEMAN-MARK STARR; GRAND SOLO DE CONCERT No. 4 en LA mineur, Opus 80, for flute solo and orchestra

arranged for flute solo and orchestra by Mark Starr; flute part edited by Isabelle Chapuis

Jules Demersseman (1833 - 1866)
Full details...
page one of JULES DEMERSSEMAN-MARK STARR; GRAND SOLO DE CONCERT No. 4 en LA mineur, Opus 80, for flute solo and orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Jules Demersseman was a Belgian flutist and composer who was considered to rank among the greatest flute virtuosi of the 19th Century. When he died suddenly and without any explanation in Paris in December 1866, the French musical journal 'Le Moniteur des pianists' proclaimed that Demersseman was "the leading virtuoso flutist in Paris." This informative article is today quite moving:

"Artistic youth just suffered a great loss. Jules Demersseman, the leading virtuoso flutist in Paris, died several days ago, scarcely 34 years old. Certainly, one always regrets the disappearance of an artist of superior talent when Death carries him away. Whatever his age, one regrets these sad occasions because his loss is a cause for mourning the art of music. But when Death strikes a man so young and upon whom we bestowed such hope for his future, the pain is even more poignant. There is mixed in this news a vague anger against the blind fate that the ancients called Destiny; the fatalists placed Destiny above the divinities.

"There was no sign that forewarned of the premature end of Demersseman. He was young. He was vigorously constituted. He only dreamed of the future, and he worked without cease. His friends–and the number is great–foresaw a long and brilliant future for him. Each time he published a new work, everyone sought it with great interest, and each new work was well worth the wait. He was virtuoso who appeared before the public, and the crowds acclaimed him. He was esteemed by all artists, beloved by all those who knew him. Demersseman leaves a celebrated name and unanimous regrets over his too early departure..

"The newspapers recently announced the appearance of new works from him. Just a few days later, they publish his necrology. Poor Demersseman! Like so many other superior spirits, you have died just at the moment when fame whispered its sweet promises, when youth smiles yet in your dreams of the future. If regrets can offer some consolation to the bereaved, Demersseman had already accomplish so much in his short life, though tears now cover his mortal remains. One is happy that the infinite wisdom of the Divine gave to humanity such invincible hope, for only courage on earth can enable us to continue to fight against Destiny in the presence of such catastrophes."

The Grand Solo de Concert No. 4 may have existed in an orchestral version during Demersseman's lifetime. Demersseman appeared often as soloist with orchestras in Paris, usually performing his own works in conjunction with concerted works by others. However, his orchestral materials were not published (with the exceptions of his early Op. 2, 3, and 5.) If Demersseman did orchestrate the Grand Solo de Concert No. 4 himself, his orchestral score and parts have never been located.

The work was initially published by Edition Richaut in Paris for flute and piano, and subsequently republished by Edition Costellat.

However, it was apparent to Mark Starr that this work was conceived as a small concerto for flute solo and orchestra in three connected movements, and that the piano part was essentially a reduction of orchestral composition. Employing a medium-size symphony orchestra of the type that was common in France in mid-19th Century concerts, Starr has scored this work to realize its full dramatic potential and colorful splendor. Needless to add, the virtuoso flute part, here edited by French flutist Isabelle Chapuis, challenges the techniques of modern-day flutists to the nth degree. All of the newly inserted cadenzas were composed jointly by Mark Starr and Isabelle Chapuis.

If you listen to the audio demo of this work, please leave a comment with your reactions to the music. Mr. Starr is always interested in listeners' opinions about the work, about the composer, and about his orchestrations.

Score ID
Jules Demersseman (1833 - 1866)
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Orchestra + solo Flute
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for JULES DEMERSSEMAN-MARK STARR; GRAND SOLO DE CONCERT No. 4 en LA mineur, Opus 80, for flute solo and orchestra

Reviews of JULES DEMERSSEMAN-MARK STARR; GRAND SOLO DE CONCERT No. 4 en LA mineur, Opus 80, for flute solo and orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...