MOZART, W.A. - Wedding March from the Marriage of Figaro arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

W.A. Mozart
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

I have arranged this very popular Wedding March, which opens the Finale of the third act of Mozart�s opera The Marriage of Figaro for string quartet in the hope that it will be requested as the recessional at weddings. It was originally scored for woodwind, horns, trumpets timpani and strings, and I have followed Mozart�s phrasing and dynamic markings implicitly; there are only two dynamic markings in the original �pp and f � which would concur with it�s suitability as an occasional piece to be played while there is a certain amount of background noise, and I have dispensed with the addition of any subtleties of simple variations which would be completely lost in the general m�l�e of the occasion. This series of arrangements for string quartet is aimed at string quartets� that are building a repertoire of incidental popular classics and �easy listening� music for social functions of every kind. In preparation also at the time of writing is a collection of the most popular Hymns taken from the English Hymnal for string quartet with optional chamber organ. From time to time I shall add further pieces thus building the availability of music that is well known to the general public. String quartets should contact me if they have any particular requests, but here I must stress that strict copyright restrictions may apply for certain commissions.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.