The Lone Ar-ranger! [Original Version]

page one of The Lone Ar-ranger! [Original Version]

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Please note that there is now an UPDATED version, which has some additions in the coda. Therefore, this present version has been reduced in price, to reflect this. The updated version is available here.

The Lone Ar-ranger! is a potpourri loosely based on the finale of Rossini’s William Tell Overture. It incorporates many short snippets of tunes whilst keeping to the overall shape of the finale. It was originally conceived for a school recorder group with piano, but recently re-arranged for piano duet, and first performed in 2000. It has been frequently requested as an encore piece, and is well received at concerts, because of the speed at which the different tunes pass by, often annoyingly without giving listeners time to recognise them before the next one! The title, of course, is based on the early TV programme, The Lone Ranger, which used the William Tell theme as its signature tune!

If you’re looking for a version for saxophone quartet (SATB), you can now get this from Saxtet Publications (Birmingham, UK).

The Brass Band version is now published by Thornes Music (Shrewsbury, UK).

The Wind Band arrangement is now published by EDITIONS MARC REIFT of Switzerland.>

For further details, please see Associated Scores below!

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Piano four hands
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for The Lone Ar-ranger! [Original Version]

Reviews of The Lone Ar-ranger! [Original Version]

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...