BERLIOZ, H. - The Shepherds Farewell. arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

H. Berlioz
Full details...
page one of BERLIOZ, H. - The Shepherds Farewell. arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Berlioz�s leanings towards music were an anomaly in his family. His father, a doctor and prominent citizen of La Cote-St-Andre, Isere where Hector was born on 11 December 1803, intended his son to follow his own profession, so at the age of 17 he went to Paris to pursue a medical career. He became a habitu� of the Opera, and in the face of an increasing weakening of his slight interest in medicine and parental displeasure he soon abandoned his medical studies in favour of a career in music. His modest income as a professional musician was eked out at first by singing in a theatre chorus and by giving guitar lessons. Berlioz wrote no solo music for the piano and no chamber music exists; he composed mainly for voices and instruments in many combinations and genres. The shepherds bid farewell to the Holy Family (to give it it�s full title) comes from the second part of his Sacred Trilogy L�Enfance du Christ; it was originally scored for two oboes, two clarinets, chorus and strings � here it is in an arrangement for string quartet.

This series of arrangements for string quartet is aimed at string quartets� that are building a repertoire of incidental popular classics and �easy listening� music for social functions of every kind. In preparation also at the time of writing is a collection of the most popular hymns taken from the English Hymnal for string quartet with optional chamber organ. From time to time I shall add further pieces thus building the availability of music that is well known to the general public. String quartets should contact me if they have any particular requests, but here I must stress that strict copyright restrictions may apply for certain commissions.

Score ID
H. Berlioz
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for BERLIOZ, H. - The Shepherds Farewell. arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reviews of BERLIOZ, H. - The Shepherds Farewell. arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...