String Quartet No. 1 in G Major

Full details...
page one of String Quartet No. 1 in G Major

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Although called "String Quartet", this is really a miniature string piece in 3 movements. There is no development or other structure resembling a classical sonata form. Because of this it is suitable for all levels of player, but especially school ensembles.

The three movements are independant but share some melodic material. The first movement is a simple walz, the second is more of a 'romance' and the third is almost a gigue. It takes its dramatic opening from Rossini's Petite Missa Solennelle. then follows this with a bouncy little motif for the cello which is later taken up by everyone else in the emsemble. The motif is given a fugal treatment. The tempo slows to about half of the original speed and the key becomes the tonic minor. A reprise of the Rossini theme recurs before the piece closes with a flourish.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
10 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of String Quartet No. 1 in G Major

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...