Sonata for Treble Recorder (or Clarinet)

Full details...
page one of Sonata for Treble Recorder (or Clarinet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This was composed in 1966, and is dedicated to Peter Bennemann, who was my partner on the Plymouth-Bremen Youth Exchange. Peter was a recorder player and so I wrote this piece with him in mind. There are four movements, and the Minuet has a definite Tyrolean L�ndler feel, despite Bremen being in the flat part of north Germany! Peter and I have remained in contact virtually ever since, and I am always delighted to visit him in Bramstedt bei Bassum, where he lives with his American wife Roberta, and Gr?inne, their Irish Wheaten terrier! I have also arranged the Treble Recorder part for Clarinet, transposing up or down the original octave, where appropriate.
The picture shows Peter and me just about to board a canal cruise on a day trip down to Amsterdam. Roberta and ’Princess’ Gr?inne are already an Bord!

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
18 minutes
Solo Soprano Recorder + piano
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Sonata for Treble Recorder (or Clarinet)

Reviews of Sonata for Treble Recorder (or Clarinet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...