HANDEL, G.F. - I Know That My Redeemer Liveth (Messiah) arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of HANDEL, G.F. - I Know That My Redeemer Liveth (Messiah) arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The oratorio Messiah was composed in the white heat of inspiration. Handel was like a man possessed with little sleep, and even less sustenance he completed his task in just 24 days, and was often reduced to tears of emotion by the enormity of his vision of our Lord�s life, death and resurrection. The work is in three parts; part one tells of the immaculate conception of the blessed Virgin and the good tidings of His birth, the shepherds in the fields �keeping watch over their flocks by night�, the great rejoicing and the foretelling of the miracles; the great last chorus �His yoke is easy� with it�s virtuosic choral writing ends the first part in positive affirmation.

In part two the suffering and passion of His life and death are told in music, which positively burns in its intensity and the musical canvas, is vast in its visionary genius. The first big chorus �Behold The Lamb of God� is breathtakingly beautiful in its intensity and the Alto Air �He was despised�, which follows, is full of the pathos of scorn, and then the most incredible music occurs in the magnificent chorus �Surely He Hath Borne Our Grief�s�. The second part ends with the �Hallelujah� chorus when Handel allegedly remarked after he composed that great chorus, �I did think I saw all Heaven before me and the great God himself.�

�I Know that my Redeemer liveth� opens the third part of the work which tells of the resurrection of Christ and the great judgement day when we shall all be changed at the sound of the last trumpet. The work closes with the chorus �Worthy is the Lamb� which leads into the final Amen.

Score ID
Gerald Manning
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for HANDEL, G.F. - I Know That My Redeemer Liveth (Messiah) arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reviews of HANDEL, G.F. - I Know That My Redeemer Liveth (Messiah) arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...