SUSY: Beyond Microcosmos

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Not available

SUSY: Beyond Microcosmos

In the middle of the 20th Century, a new scientific theory came into existence � String Theory. This theory has the potential to revoluntionise modern physics; it opens the door to the possibility of a �Theory of Everything�.

The basic concept of the String Theory is that: everything on Earth is made up of tiny, vibrating strings. Different oscillations of strings create different fundamental matters, such as electrons and photons/quarks. Each of these fundamental matters must also have a �shadow� force carrier particle, and a force carrier particle must have its �shadow� matter particle. This relationship of force carrier particle and matter particle is called Supersymmetry (SUSY).

SUSY: Beyond Microcosmos deals loosely with the idea of String Theory. The work begins with a drone, rhythmically disjointed. It becomes the building block for the entire work, where the range of sound and length of notes are slowly expanded. The rhythmic drone is continued throughout the work, maintaining momentum (Force) and providing structure and harmony (Matter) to the work itself.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Adrian Mansukhani. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Adrian Mansukhani has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.