Satirical Sketches for Piano & Alto Sax, No 2 - Flirtations with a Celebrity

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Solo instrument + piano (Alto Saxophone)
Instrumental parts
Not available


This work of five 2-minute pieces was composed over a period of a year, during which I experimented with a variety of musical terms and theory. Due to a lack of skills but the love for jazz, I decided on piano and saxophone. In the process I was hoping to present my compositional voice in a toned-down jazz imitation style. Feel free to re-arrange the pieces to suit your individual needs, styles or preferences.

The titles are not aimed at any specific celebrity, so please do not get carried away. It�s purely incidental if any one of the titles matches your circumstances!

In each piece I combined traditional and less traditional harmonies for a different color, yet you may change the harmony any way you like, and improvise!

Rhythmic patterns are based on examples taken from The New Harvard Dictionary of Music (Randel) and some from the internet. If you have any suggestions on texts, examples or comments on specific dance-style rhythms, I would like to hear about it. Thank you!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Anton J Jansen. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Anton J Jansen has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.