Come To The Opera - Puccini, G. - Humming Chorus from Madama Butterfly - arr, for Vioce & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Puccini, G.
Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of Come To The Opera - Puccini, G. - Humming Chorus from Madama Butterfly - arr, for Vioce & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

GIACOMO PUCCINI (b. Lucca, Dec. 22, 1858 � d. Brussels, Nov.29, 1924)

The Puccini name enjoyed a considerable reputation in Italy for more than a century, for Giacomo Puccini was descended from a fine pedigree of musicians beginning with his great-great-grandfather, Giocomo (1712-81), and all his ancestors in the direct line were musicians of prominence, mainly in the domain of ecclesiastical music: Antonio (1747-1832), Domenico (1771-1815), and Michele his father (1813-64) who was organist at Lucca where �GIACOMO ANTONIO DOMENICO MICHELE SECONDO MARIA PUCCINI (his full name was a long one) was born in 1858. He entered the Milan Conservatory in 1880 where he was very fortunate to study with an excellent teacher of composition, Antonio Bazzini and later he came under the influence of Amilcare Ponchielli, composer of La Gioconda.

Madama Butterfly

The first performance of Madama Butterfly took place at La Scala, Milan, on the 17th of February 1904. Set in Nagasaki the opera is allegedly based on a true incident. An American naval officer, Pinkerton, has persuaded a Japanese geisha, Butterfly, to marry him. His duties however take him away from Butterfly and when he eventually returns after an absence of three years it is in the company of his American wife. Butterfly refuses to believe the infidelity and betrayal but as the realisation of the truth becomes apparent the grief-stricken and broken-hearted woman kills herself.

The Humming Chorus is sung as the moon light streams into her bedroom while she and her child sleep.

Score ID
Puccini, G.
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Come To The Opera - Puccini, G. - Humming Chorus from Madama Butterfly - arr, for Vioce & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

You might also like...