VIEUXTEMPS - STARR: Fantaisie sur Le Rossignol de Alexandre Alabieff, for violin and piano

Henri Vieuxtemps
Full details...
page one of VIEUXTEMPS - STARR: Fantaisie sur Le Rossignol de Alexandre Alabieff, for violin and piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is a reduction for violin and piano of my orchestrated version of the piece, for violin solo and string orchestra. Thus, this version for violin and piano is not quite the same as Vieuxtemps’ original composition, for violin and piano. For one thing, the piano accompaniment is considerably fuller, harmonically, and the notation reflects the orchestral version. For another, the violin part is consistent with the orchestral version; it has rehearsal letters; and it was edited by me with some ’improvements’ in notation. The violin part also contains additional fingerings by Sarasate (who was the teacher of my wife’s grandmother, and marked her copy of the original violin part–which we still have.) While my reduction of my orchestraled version is suitable for performances with piano in recitals, its primary purpose is to serve as an aid for violinists to prepare performances of the orchestral version. The orchestral version is available from Noteworthy Music ( on a rental basis for specific performances or recordings by orchestras. You can hear the orchestral version now in a computer-generated performance using sampled instruments at the Noteworthy Music website, at the following link:

Score ID
Henri Vieuxtemps
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of VIEUXTEMPS - STARR: Fantaisie sur Le Rossignol de Alexandre Alabieff, for violin and piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...