A Night at the Ballet - Tchaikovsky, P. - Waltz from 'Swan Lake' - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

Peter Illich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) Waltz from �Swan Lake�

Tchaikovsky, more than any other composer of his period and even to our own day, understood the danse d�ecole, its relation to spectacle and its subtle connection with the popular ballroom dances of his day. In his three great ballets Lac des Cygnes, Casse Noisette and La Belle au Bois Dormant elevated what had been previously hack scores into a succession of musical masterpieces. In Lac des Cygnes he created a truly symphonic canvas with masterly orchestration.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.