Recorder Trio, adapted from 'Woodwind Trio'

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Trio of Soprano Recorders
Instrumental parts
Not available

This trio is one of several serial compositions I was wrote in the late sixties early seventies. This was the standard 'academic' style and several professors of music then wrote 'how to do' books on serial composition. Retrospectively it was not as good an idea as it seemed at the time! It uses two twelve-note series and has a vague tonality of E. Bars 43 to 47 have difficult rhythm, and the duplet rit in bars 71-73 is fiendish to play accurately, (though accuracy is not what was necessarily intended). In view of this it is best for each player to have a 3 page score than to try and play from parts.

Though the piece was originally written for flute, oboe and bassoon this recorder adaptation has been played more often and is just as effective.

page one of Recorder Trio, adapted from 'Woodwind Trio'ASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Martin Grayson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.