Wind Quintet (An Adventure) - Complete - all 5 movements

Full details...
page one of Wind Quintet (An Adventure) - Complete - all 5 movements

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Woodwind quintets (Fl, Ob, Cl, Hn, Bn) are such exciting ensembles to play in, with an excellent repertoire. Subtitled "An Adventure", this is written to be fun to play and with plenty to challenge most players. This version is the complete work, but the five movements may be purchased separately although it will cost you more if you end up buying the complete work. Click on "Associated Scores" for individual movements.

The 5 movements are:

1. With a Swagger - Somehow I think of all wind quintets as having a "French" flavour and that is the character of this short opening movement.

2. Of a Flutter- Slow and very expressive, building to a complex climax.

3. Molly and the Shepherds - If you know your Percy Grainger you will already have guessed what this movement is about. A little pastiche on his style with a little mystery hidden inside. This movement works well as a stand-alone piece.

4. Don't Cry - A touch of Argentinian fervour! Another movement which can be performed as a stand-alone piece.

5. The Road to Recovery - Thoughtful, with short cadenzas for all players and a gradual build-up and return to the original material from the first movement. This is the hardest movement to get to grips with because of the changing pulse and the understanding required by all players, but it brings the work full circle a gives balance.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
16 minutes
Wind quintet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Wind Quintet (An Adventure) - Complete - all 5 movements

Reviews of Wind Quintet (An Adventure) - Complete - all 5 movements

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...