Unforgiving Corridor

Full details...
page one of Unforgiving Corridor

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Orchestra and Solo Violin

"Unforgiving Corridor" was composed between August and October 2000 and uses a fairly standard sized Orchestra, only to create denser textures all of the String parts are divided into two. This also helps create lighter String textures as well. The work is based around a dream that I once had. In this dream I was forced to walk down a corridor where people had lined up on both sides. As I walk down the corridor I am met with punches, kicks and beatings, some of the people are armed and hit me with various objects.

To represent this concept in musical terms, the Solo Violin part represents myself walking through the corridor. The piece begins with an introduction that ends at bar 48, this is where the second section begins and Solo Violin first enters. The initial material in the solo Violin contains fast scale-like passages, but with every "attack" from the orchestra the Solo Violin grows weaker and the rhythms become slower. This section ends at bar 128 where the third section begins and the main material for the solo Violin is counterwise glissandi. The third section is also meant to represent annoyance and frustration of not being able to regain my balance. This section ends at bar 168 where the fourth section begins which has the soul purpose of overpowering the Solo Violin. Savage pizzicato material in the solo Violin once again represent frustration and straining to rise above the predicament of being overpowered. The final section begins at bar 194 after the climax of the work with the Solo Violin, "writhing in pain". With the Solo Violin finally overpowered, gradually it dies away beginning first in the extremely high register and gradually moving to the bottom of its register.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Unforgiving Corridor

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...