Bora - Bribie Suite 2nd. Movt.

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Percussion ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

Bora is the second movement of a percussion suite scored for approx 12 percussion insts. including piano and bass guitar. Once again there are parts for a range of abilities and 3 pitched percussion parts. The Bora Ring was a site where Aboriginal boys were initiated into manhood. The score has a very primal feel and is highly rhythmic and a little harder than the previous movement. P.S. added Sept. 08 - Apparently this score has now been voted into the Sib top 10 - thanks for those who did that. It was quite a surprise to me as, although I am happy with the work, I don't consider it in my top 10 on my sib site.(well maybe ..just) There are other scores there where blood was sweated and others with which I am more pleased personal favourite of the percussion scores is MURRUMBA (which is Aboriginal for 'a good place') I do welcome feedback and I do thank you for taking the time to view my work and I am happy to re-score this suite to meet your requirements should you ask. Don't forget the vote button if you enjoyed…would be more than nice to have a number one again. regards jeff

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jeffrey Thorpe. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jeffrey Thorpe has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.