Home > Solo instrument > Piano Sonata - third movement

Piano Sonata - third movement

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The slow movement starts with a sparse theme (A) which leads into a gently rocking second theme (B) in B minor. After this there is a motif with a slow dotted note rhythm which combines with the transition motif. A little later this dotted motif is used in a mysterious section with a repeated note accompaniment in the right hand. (There are a number of other connected themes and intervals). There follows a tender melodic extension of the transition theme (into a would be love theme)which is cut short and followed by a reflective section referring to the last movement´┐Żs main theme. The last section builds up from dream like versions of themes A and B into more sweeping melodic versions of these in E and B major, the two chords of both keys clashing at times.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Steve Law. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Steve Law has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.