Symphonic Prelude: Jan Tregeagle

Full details...
page one of Symphonic Prelude: Jan Tregeagle

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The programme of Jan Tregeagle follows the Cornish legend of the same name, which to this day remains one of the most intriguing stories connected with the county. In this symphonic prelude, we open with a scene of Bodmin Moor a little before dawn, shafts of light piercing the early morning fog which hangs threateningly over Dozmary Pool. As day slowly begins to break, a lonely figure emerges from the mist, that of Jan Tregeagle. His sorrow and seclusion are represented in the oboe solo, marked lamentoso. From the mysterious opening material, a threatening undercurrent sets up (bar 14) and unearthly creatures begin to gather. A chase across the moor soon begins (bar 22). After a while, Jan finds safety from the demons (Larghetto, bar 49) and finds time to reflect on his deeds on earth, and is soon absorbed by the beauty of the land around him (bar 64). However, Jan is no reformed character, and soon his thoughts turn to escaping his punishment. As the demons gather once more, Jan begins to run towards the sound of the church bells at Roche Rock (bar 81). In his haste, Jan crashes through the east window of the church, and head becomes stuck inside, with his spirit shoulders unable to pass into the holy building. In the story, Jan is taken away to Gwenvor Cove near Land's End (or in some versions, to Padstow) to undertake a series of menial tasks, all of which he tries to cheat at. The anxiety in the music from the piu mosso (bar 95) is representative of his endless irritation at his tasks. It is said that Jan Tregeagle's cries can still be heard to this day, and the piece closes with a cry of anguish and frustration.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Symphonic Prelude: Jan Tregeagle

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...