Concerto Grosso no.1

Full details...
page one of Concerto Grosso no.1

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Concerto Grosso no.1 was one of my first compositions intended for public performance. It was first played by the Viola d'amore Society of Great Britain soon after it was composed in 1993 (hence the inclusion of a viola d'amore in the Concertino lineup), and remained in their repertoire for years to come. Although the influence of the Baroque multiple concerto (particularly J.S. Bach's Brandenburg Concertos and the multiple concerti of Vivaldi) is undeniable, the composition of this work coincided with my becoming familiar with the works of more modern composers such as Hindemith and Stravinsky - the ballet scores for Pulcinella and Apollon Musagette being particular favourites of mine. The influence of these neo-classical works has, I hope, made my Concerto Grosso more than a work of mere pastiche. If a viola d�amore is not available (they are quite hard to come by these days!) then a standard viola may be used in the solo quartet, for which �ossia� sections have been provided.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
String orchestra
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto Grosso no.1

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...