VERACINI, F.M. - Sonata for Violin & Piano in d minor transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

Veracini, F.M.
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
14 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Solo Viola)
Instrumental parts

Francesco Maria Veracini (February 1, 1690 � October, 1768) was an Italian composer and violinist, perhaps best known for his violin sonatas and violin concertos. His uncle Antonio gave him his first lessons, and in time he often appeared with him in concerts and recitals. As a virtuoso soloist he travelled throughout Europe, and in 1714 impressed Tartini with an incredible display of technique in some of his own compositions, and at the time it was reported that Tartini withdrew for a while to study better use of the bow. During this time Pietro Locatelli, another up and coming violinist probably studied with Veracini. Although he was an instrumentalist, about half his output was vocal, and for a while he was Handel�s 's great rival as an opera composer in London.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.